New Facebook phishing wave with suspect YouTube links - hameçonnage

New Facebook phishing wave with suspect YouTube links

Over the past few weeks there has been another increase in phishing attempts via Facebook messages. Scammers have been sending messages that look like they contain a legitimate YouTube link.

They’re short, snappy, and whet the appetite of the potential victim to learn more: They’re the latest phishing messages via Facebook Messenger. They contain little text, and may even include your own name and a few smileys. On top of this, they actually seem credible as the message comes from a friend.

New Facebook phishing wave with suspect YouTube links - in-post
The latest phishing scam on Facebook tries to lure you in with a YouTube link – which of course doesn’t take you to YouTube. You can tell that it’s fake by hovering your mouse over the link and checking the true destination displayed on the bottom left of the screen.

 

What happens if you click the link?

Clicking the link takes you to a deceptively real-looking Facebook login page where you’re asked to enter your Facebook login credentials. These then do end up going somewhere – just not to Facebook. Once you’ve entered your personal login details on this fake site, in a flash your Facebook account is used to spread the message to your Facebook friends.

Oh no, I’ve sent messages like this! What should I do?

Keep calm and don’t panic. This checklist will help with damage limitation:

  • Facebook login credentials: Change these right away. And if you use the same login credentials with other accounts, change those too. Facebook’s site includes help with hacked Facebook accounts.
  • Inform Facebook friends: Very few will complain about being told. As mentioned, the message makes people curious to learn more – and it seems like more and more people are falling for it.
  • Check your computer: You never know whether malicious software has ended up on your computer as a result of you logging in or because of any background processes. The free version of Avira Antivirus will help you with checking.
  • Check your browser: Are the settings still as they were before? Have new add-ons/extensions appeared that weren’t there previously?

I’ve received a message like this – what should I do?

The answer’s really simple: (Practically) nothing. You should let the sender know about what’s happened, otherwise, the message can be safely ignored.

This post is also available in: GermanFrenchItalian

Hey, I'm István and the Social Media Manager @Avira. Find all of my blog articles here and I hope you enjoy & share them. Stay up-to-date and connect with Avira on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, and YouTube. Follow this blog with Bloglovin.